The Shandong Mystery

For some years now, I have loved Peking’s Shandong Salad. Not much of a salad – it consists of deep fried zucchini placed on a completely negligible pile of shredded lettuce. I remember it was hard to convince me to try this dish in the beginning because I severely dislike zucchini. This tastes nothing like zucchini – it tastes like fabulous crunchy garlic and fabulousness. I’m sorry if I’m not more eloquent in my ingredient tasting expressiveness but well… I stopped in to Peking one evening and decided to ask them what was in the shandong salad.

The waiter told me:

The zucchini is coated in egg and flour and fried in oil.

Then the zucchini is fried again in a mixture of vinegar, garlic and chili.

The next step:

To try to make it! Will keep you posted…

1 Comment

Filed under Fabulous Restaurant Food

One response to “The Shandong Mystery

  1. Thanks for sharing,I’ve been looking all over the internet for this recipe.peking is one of my favourite places: ))

Leave a Reply

