A call for more cooking…

After a very complimentary mention by the Cairo360.com team and a link featured on La Bodega’s blog, I am humbled and wracked with guilt at my inability to update! While my cooking has also had a drop in its energy level… things have happened and the cook-in-me is making a comeback. Most recently, I mixed a tangy sun dried tomato pesto with some cream and finely grated Parmesan to glam up my daughter’s request for macaroni and cheese but in a more creative attempt last week, I created (with what was available in my fridge/freezer) some very yummy shrimp/salmon cakes…. so here you go!

Shrimp salmon bites

Inspired by the random discovery of ‘Old Bay’ at a local supermarket – which reminded me of some killer crab cakes I ate in Baltimore – I did some research and picked out my favorite ingredients (and those available in Cairo) to make a little snack for myself and the family about a week ago.

Ingredients

3 eggs, lightly beaten

2 salmon steaks (gourmet) skin removed and chopped in little pieces

250g shrimp, chopped up in little pieces (tails chopped off too)

soft breadcrumbs

2 tablespoons of dijon mustard

1 tablespoon regular mustard

2 teaspoons of Old Bay spice

salt and pepper

Directions:

1. Mix all these ingredients together – leaving out the breadcrumbs in the beginning.

2. Add in breadcrumbs bit by bit and mix with your hands till the mixture sticks together but is not too goopy.

3. Leave the mixture to sit for a few hours – you don’t have to do this but it will help the flavors really take hold of the salmon and shrimp.

4. Heat up sunflower oil and wait till it bubbles a little at the bottom.

5. Fry little patties of the mixture to make small shrimp/salmon cakes and turn them over so they are golden on each side. They should cook for a few minutes on each side since both shrimp and salmon cook quickly.

6. Leave them to cool on paper towels (yes, try to get rid of a little of that oil).

7. Serve them with: soya sauce, dill cream sauce, tartar sauce….

Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “A call for more cooking…

  1. Mohamed

    Sounds divine. I can’t wait to try it!

  2. Welcome to the blogging world. Fun to read about your cooking adventures. Have you connected to Networked Blogs on Facebook?

  3. I am so happy to find your blog. Congratulations on writing–and on writing about cooking as well. That’s my favorite. I look forward to reading and testing out all your Egyptian and non-Egyptian recipes, and am happy that we’re in touch, playing together in our respective African kitchens.

Leave a Reply

